

Please note these minutes remain unconfirmed until the Civil Defence Emergency Management Group meeting on 24 June 2025.

Report 25.124

Unconfirmed Public minutes of the Civil Defence Emergency Management Group meeting on Tuesday 18 March 2025

Taumata Kōrero – Council Chamber, Greater Wellington Regional Council 100 Cuba Street, Te Aro, Wellington, at 1.01pm

Members Present

Hon. Mayor Mark (Deputy Chair) Mayor Baker Mayor Caffell Mayor Connelly Mayor Guppy Mayor Holborow Council Chair Ponter

Callum Katene

Also present

Deputy Mayor Lewis

Hutt City Council

Carterton District Council

Masterton District Council

Kāpiti Coast District Council

Upper Hutt City Council

South Wairarapa District Council

Greater Wellington Regional Council

Porirua City Council

Mayor Caffell participated at this meeting remotely via Microsoft Teams and counted for purpose of quorum in accordance with clause 25A of Schedule 7 to the Local Government Act 2002.

Hon. Mayor Mark, as Deputy Chair, presided at the meeting in the absence of the Joint Committee Chair.

Karakia timatanga

The Presiding Member opened the meeting with a karakia timatanga.

Public Business

1 Apologies

Moved: Mayor Baker / Mayor Guppy

That the Joint Committee accepts the apology for absence from Mayors Campbell and Whanau and Kura Moeahu.

The motion was **carried**.

2 Declarations of conflicts of interest

There were no declarations of conflicts of interest.

3 Public participation

There was no public participation.

4 Confirmation of the Public minutes of the Civil Defence Emergency Management Group meeting on 26 November 2024 - Report 24.629

Moved: Mayor Guppy / Mayor Baker

That the Joint Committee confirms the Public minutes of the Civil Defence Emergency Management Group meeting on 26 November 2024 – Report 24.629.

The motion was **carried**.

5 Civil Defence Emergency Management Group Appointments – Report 25.108

Dan Neely, Regional Manager, Wellington Region Emergency Management Office, spoke to the report.

Moved: Mayor Baker / Mayor Holborow

That the Joint Committee:

- 1 Approves the removal of the following statutory appointees:
 - a Julie Sherston as Group Welfare Manager
 - b Simon Taylor as Alternate Local Controller for the combined councils of the Wairarapa
 - Jonathan Hooker as Primary Local Controller for the combined councils of the Wairarapa.
- 2 Approves the addition of the following statutory appointees:
 - a Tim Harty as the Primary Local Controller for Upper Hutt City Council
 - b Richard Hopkins as Alternate Local Controller for Kapiti Coast District Council
 - c Simon Taylor as Primary Local Controller for the combined councils of the Wairarapa
 - d Jonathan Hooker as Alternate Local Controller for the combined councils of the Wairarapa

- e Ian Osland as Alternate Local Controller for the combined councils of the Wairarapa
- f Matt Vins as Alternate Local Controller for the combined councils of the Wairarapa
- g Franzisca Doser as Group Welfare Manager.

The motion was **carried**.

Karakia whakamutunga

The Presiding Member closed the meeting with a karakia whakamutunga.

The public meeting closed at 1.06pm.

Mayor T Whanau

Chair

Date: