

Please note these minutes remain unconfirmed until the Wellington Regional Leadership Committee meeting on 17 June 2025.

Report 25.123

Unconfirmed Public minutes of the Wellington Regional Leadership Committee meeting on 18 March 2025

Taumata Kōrero – Council Chamber, Greater Wellington Regional Council 100 Cuba Street, Te Aro, Wellington, at 10.01am

Members Present

Darrin Apanui (Chairperson) Council Chair Ponter (Deputy Chairperson)

Councils

Mayor Baker Mayor Caffell Mayor Connelly Mayor Guppy Mayor Holborow Deputy Mayor Lewis Hon. Mayor Mark Mayor Wanden

lwi

Denise Hapeta (from 10.02am) Helmut Modlik Huia Puketapu (from 10.06am) Di Rump (until 10.41am) Rangitāne Tū Mai Rā Trust Greater Wellington Regional Council

Porirua City Council Masterton District Council South Wairarapa District Council Upper Hutt City Council Kāpiti Coast District Council Hutt City Council Carterton District Council Horowhenua District Council

Raukawa ki te Tonga Te Rūnanga o Toa Rangatira Inc. Port Nicholson Block Settlement Trust Muaūpoko Tribal Authority Inc.

Mayor Wanden, Deputy Mayor Lewis, Huia Puketapu and Di Rump participated at this meeting remotely via Microsoft Teams and counted for the purpose of quorum in accordance with clause 25A of Schedule 7 to the Local Government Act 2002.

Karakia timatanga

The Committee Chair invited Helmut Modlik to open the meeting with a karakia timatanga

Public Business

1 Apologies

Moved: Darrin Apanui / Council Chair Ponter

That the Wellington Regional Leadership Committee accepts the apology for absence from Mayors Whanau and Barry and Raymond Hall.

The motion was **carried**.

2 Declarations of conflicts of interest

Helmut Modlik declared a conflict of interest with regard to item 5 Industrial Land -Report 25.45

3 Public participation

There was no public participation.

4 Confirmation of the Public minutes of the Wellington Regional Leadership Committee meeting on 1 October 2024 – Report 24.549

Moved: Mayor Connelly / Mayor Baker

That the Joint Committee confirms the Public minutes of the Wellington Regional Leadership Committee meeting on 1 October 2024 – Report 24.549 as corrected.

The motion was carried.

Noted: Under members present Mayor Wanden was incorrectly listed as representing Kāpiti Coast District Council this was corrected to Horowhenua District Council

5 Industrial Land Report – Report 25.45

David McCorkindale, Group Manager Community Vision and Delivery, Horowhenua District Council (project sponsor), Ruth Allen, Principal Urban Regenerations, The Property Group, and Allen Yip, Programme Manager, Wellington Regional Leadership Committee Secretariat spoke to the report.

Moved: Mayor Baker / Mayor Connelly

That the Wellington Regional Leadership Committee:

1 Agrees to progress the work on the Industrial Land Study – Summary Report (Attachment 1), noting that any further progress on these or any other site is subject to working alongside local authorities and mana whenua.

- 2 Agrees to option four to address the industrial land issues identified in the report through a Regionally Coordinated, Locally Led approach.
- 3 Endorses the Wellington Regional Leadership Committee (WRLC) Secretariat, alongside the Project Sponsor, to develop the structure, terms of reference, and other programme materials.
- 4 Notes that members of the WRLC Senior Staff Group will help ensure the programme is practical and fit for purpose, while also ensuring the local response is appropriately resourced.
- 5 Notes that any additional funding required will be managed by the WRLC Secretariat within the existing WRLC project budget, through the reprioritisation of other projects.

The motion was **carried**.

Di Rump left the meeting at 10.41am during the above item and did not return.

6 Wellington Regional Leadership Committee Secretariat Report – March 2025 – Report 25.73 [For Information]

Allen Yip, Programme Manager, Wellington Regional Leadership Committee Secretariat, spoke to the report.

Karakia whakamutunga

The Committee Chair closed the meeting with a karakia whakamutunga.

The meeting closed at 11.09am

D Apanui

Chair

Date: